# Linxup vs Azuga vs ClearPathGPS: 11 Best GPS Vehicle Tracking Software 2026

> The best GPS vehicle tracking software for most small and mid-size fleet owners is Linxup, followed by Azuga and ClearPathGPS. Linxup and Azuga are the only two with per-vehicle prices published on the pages we opened, $25 and $25 to $35 a month. Geotab, Verizon Connect, Samsara, GPS Insight, Teletrac Navman, Rastrac and Motive show no price on the pages we could read, so quote only.

- URL: https://topelevens.com/gps-vehicle-tracking-software
- Last verified: 2026-10-12
- Methodology: https://topelevens.com/methodology
- JSON: https://topelevens.com/api/lists/gps-vehicle-tracking-software · CSV: https://topelevens.com/api/lists/gps-vehicle-tracking-software/csv

## Ranking

### #1 Linxup · 8.1/9.4
- Best for: Owners of a handful to a few dozen vehicles who want a published per-vehicle price, a plug-in tracker and the choice of no contract.
- null · founded null · $$ ($25 per vehicle/month for GPS tracking; ELD $30)
- Linxup ranks first because it is the only vendor we read that publishes a per-vehicle GPS price, $25 a month, together with the hardware cost, $69 for a standard plug-in tracker on a month-to-month plan or free on a 3-year contract, and offers No Contract, 2-year and 3-year terms.
- Pro: The page states no activation fee, free shipping, free support and onboarding, a lifetime hardware guarantee, and volume and bundle discounts. Vehicle tracking lists real-time GPS, geofencing, theft recovery, unsafe driving monitors and maintenance tracking.
- Con: Asset tracking, dash cams, AI dash cams and rear view cams show no price on the page, only 'Let's talk'. The page names no integrations or API, and dash cams require a GPS tracking unit.
- Risk signals (none, checked 2026-10-12): No risk-signal search was run for this entry; none observed on the vendor pages read on 2026-10-12.

### #2 Azuga · 7.7/9.4
- Best for: Fleets that want three published per-vehicle tiers and a driver-scoring and rewards approach, with the option to add AI dash cams.
- null · founded null · $$ ($25 to $35 per vehicle/month)
- Azuga ranks second because it publishes three plans, BasicFleet at $25, SafeFleet at $30 and CompleteFleet at $35 per vehicle per month, and shows a feature-by-feature table, including how often each plan updates location: every 2 minutes, every 1 minute or every 30 seconds.
- Pro: The comparison table makes the trade-off visible: GPS tracking, geofencing, vehicle diagnostics and scheduled maintenance are on every plan, while API integration and fuel card integration begin on SafeFleet. Phone, email and web support are listed on every plan.
- Con: The page states no contract length, commitment, cancellation or setup-fee terms, so total cost of ownership cannot be judged from it. The SafetyCam AI add-on is listed at $41.99 a month, while the headline cites $49.99 a month for a dual-facing camera, and the page does not reconcile the two.
- Risk signals (none, checked 2026-10-12): No risk-signal search was run for this entry; none observed on the vendor pages read on 2026-10-12.

### #3 ClearPathGPS · 7.6/9.4
- Best for: Small fleets that want to know the plan structure and the no-long-term-contract policy before they call, and that value an open API on the upper plan.
- null · founded null · $$ (quote only; per-vehicle rate not published; dash cam add-on $30/month)
- ClearPathGPS ranks third because the pricing page lays out Standard and Pro in detail and states no long-term contracts and no upfront hardware cost on qualifying plans, even though both plans say 'Contact us for Pricing' and give no per-vehicle number.
- Pro: Pro adds advanced reporting, real-time custom alerts, text-to-dispatch, partner integrations, open API access and live location sharing via ClearShare. Billing is monthly and the page lists U.S.-based support.
- Con: No per-vehicle price appears on the page, so the number is quote only. The one dollar figure on the page is a $30 a month dash cam add-on, and hardware prices for OBD, hardwired, solar and intrinsically safe trackers are not listed.
- Risk signals (none, checked 2026-10-12): No risk-signal search was run for this entry; none observed on the vendor pages read on 2026-10-12.

### #4 Geotab · 6.8/9.4
- Best for: Fleets that want an OBD II plug-in tracker with an open ecosystem of integrations, an SDK and a marketplace, and can work through a reseller or quote.
- null · founded null · $$ (quote only; price not published on the page we could open)
- Geotab ranks fourth because its integration story is the strongest we read, with a Developer SDK and API, a Data Connector, an MCP Connector and a Marketplace, while the page we opened shows no plan names or prices.
- Pro: The GO device plugs into the OBD II port with no mandatory extra antennas or wire-splicing and records location, speed, idling and distance. The page also lists an AI dash cam, asset tracking, a fleet card and an FMCSA-certified ELD.
- Con: The page links to subscription plans and pricing but lists no plan names, tiers or prices, so cost is quote only. The first product page URL we tried returned HTTP 404.
- Risk signals (none, checked 2026-10-12): No risk-signal search was run for this entry; none observed on the vendor pages read on 2026-10-12.

### #5 Verizon Connect · 6.7/9.4
- Best for: Owners who want a large provider with a clear feature list covering maintenance reminders, driver scorecards and a mobile app, and who accept quote-based pricing.
- null · founded null · $$$ (price not published on the page we could open)
- Verizon Connect ranks fifth on the strength of a detailed feature list, live map, route replay, geofences, custom alerts, maintenance tracking and driver scorecards, held back by a page that links to 'See plans & pricing' but shows no price or plan detail in what we could open.
- Pro: The page lists a live map, vehicle history with breadcrumb trails, custom alerts for unauthorized use and idling, digital inspection forms, service reminders, diagnostic trouble codes, the Spotlight mobile app and electric vehicle monitoring.
- Con: Price is quote only; the pricing link on the page led nowhere we could read, and the product page URL we first tried returned HTTP 404. The page mentions small business, mid-market (50+ vehicles) and enterprise segments but does not describe them.
- Risk signals (none, checked 2026-10-12): No risk-signal search was run for this entry; none observed on the vendor pages read on 2026-10-12.

### #6 Rastrac · 6.5/9.4
- Best for: Owners who want a non-proprietary hardware approach, a web API and a factory-embedded option, and who can ask for a quote.
- null · founded null · $$ (quote only, except RastracFusion described as less than $1 a day)
- Rastrac ranks sixth because the page offers a Web API, a mobile app and non-proprietary hardware that works with third-party systems, and gives one price reference, RastracFusion at 'less than $1 a day', with no plan tiers or other prices.
- Pro: RastracFusion connects to factory-embedded vehicle systems with no hardware or installation, offering real-time tracking, engine diagnostics and maintenance alerts. The page states a free trial of 3 months on it, ending November 30, 2026.
- Con: Apart from the 'less than $1 a day' phrase, no price is shown for devices, software or the API, and we cannot convert that phrase into a monthly number. No plan tiers are listed.
- Risk signals (none, checked 2026-10-12): No risk-signal search was run for this entry; none observed on the vendor pages read on 2026-10-12.

### #7 GPS Insight · 6.4/9.4
- Best for: Fleets that want depth in reporting and alerts, with maintenance and camera media in the same view, and are willing to request a quote.
- null · founded null · $$ (quote only; price not published on the page we could open)
- GPS Insight ranks seventh because the page quantifies its reporting and alerting, 25+ configurable alert types and 60+ reports that can be scheduled, and lists maintenance and camera media in the same platform, but it shows no plans or prices.
- Pro: The page lists current maps with location history, custom dashboards, scheduled and completed maintenance tasks in one view, a camera media library and admin tools for users, vehicle groups, drivers and landmarks.
- Con: No plans or prices are shown on the page we opened, and the pricing URL we tried first returned HTTP 404. Smart Cameras, Field Service Management and Compliance (ELD) are listed without prices or plans.
- Risk signals (none, checked 2026-10-12): No risk-signal search was run for this entry; none observed on the vendor pages read on 2026-10-12.

### #8 Samsara · 6/9.4
- Best for: Larger small-to-mid fleets that want a broad platform, covering GPS, assets, trailers and equipment, and are happy to work from a quote.
- null · founded null · $$$ (price not published on the page we could open)
- Samsara ranks eighth because its pricing page shows no prices or named plans, only a selector asking how many vehicles or assets you have, with ranges from 1-5 up to 5,000+, so a small fleet cannot judge cost from the page.
- Pro: The page lists GPS Fleet Tracking under Fleet Telematics as real-time GPS, routing, fuel and compliance, plus separate trailer tracking, asset tracking and asset tag products. It lists a 1-5 vehicle band, so very small fleets are considered.
- Con: The page does not describe GPS Fleet Tracking beyond one summary line, and its 'Pricing and Plans' page was not included in what we read. Quote only.
- Risk signals (none, checked 2026-10-12): No risk-signal search was run for this entry; none observed on the vendor pages read on 2026-10-12.

### #9 Teletrac Navman · 5.7/9.4
- Best for: Fleets that want to configure modules such as video, ELD, routing and DVIR around vehicle tracking and are comfortable with a build-your-own quote.
- null · founded null · $$ (quote only; price not published on the page we could open)
- Teletrac Navman ranks ninth because the page we opened lists vehicle tracking with a long module menu, driver scorecard, video telematics, ELD, routing and dispatch, DVIR and IFTA, but no plans or prices, only a 'Build Your Solution' configurator.
- Pro: The page describes GPS asset tracking for equipment as tracking location, costs and maintenance schedules, and shows sample live status alerts such as speed warnings and arrival-on-site notices.
- Con: No prices or plan names appear on the page, and detail on how the tracking itself works is thin. Cost is quote only.
- Risk signals (none, checked 2026-10-12): No risk-signal search was run for this entry; none observed on the vendor pages read on 2026-10-12.

### #10 Motive · 5.2/9.4
- Best for: Fleets that already know they want Motive's fleet management and AI driver-safety positioning and will go through sales.
- null · founded null · $$ (price not published on the pages we could open)
- Motive ranks tenth because the pages we could open give the least usable detail: the home page names fleet management, driver safety and equipment monitoring with no plans or prices, and the pricing page returned only a regional prompt with no pricing content.
- Pro: The home page describes visibility into vehicles' location, usage and health, AI alerts for collision prevention and equipment theft prevention.
- Con: No plans, prices or feature lists are shown on either page, and GPS Fleet Tracking appears only as a navigation link with no description. This is a statement about what the pages showed, not about the product.
- Risk signals (none, checked 2026-10-12): No risk-signal search was run for this entry; none observed on the vendor pages read on 2026-10-12.

### #11 [WILDCARD, UNRATED] Spytec GPS
- Unrated by design. Selected by the wildcard signal model (wildcard-v2.0): https://topelevens.com/methodology/wildcard
- Signal read: This is the cheapest published way I found to put live tracking on a few vehicles, with the hardware thrown in.
  - under_the_radar (strong): Fleet plans from $8.95 per vehicle per month with free hardware and tracking sit far below the $25 to $35 published by the other vendors on this list that show a number.
  - impact_density (strong): Five vehicles would start at about $44.75 a month on the 'from' price, with no hardware purchase stated, though the page does not say which tier that price covers.
  - category_fit_anomaly (notable): The brand is built around personal and portable trackers, and the fleet plan sits as one section of that page rather than a dedicated fleet product.
  - ceiling_distance (notable): The page lists no maintenance module, ELD, API or reporting library, so a growing fleet will reach the ceiling sooner than on Linxup or Azuga.
  - price_integrity_under_growth (mixed): The price is annual-billed and described as 'from', and volume discounts start at five devices, so the bill at your own size needs confirming in writing.
- Right for: The owner of a 3 to 15 vehicle crew who needs to see where trucks are and wants geofence alerts for the lowest monthly cost.
- Wrong for: A fleet that needs ELD, driver coaching, dash cams or an open API on the same contract.
- Best for: Owners of a few vehicles who want the lowest published per-vehicle tracking price and free hardware, and can live without a full fleet-management suite.
- null · founded null · $ (from $8.95 per vehicle/month billed annually; free tracker with every plan)
- Spytec's fleet plans start at $8.95 per vehicle per month billed annually with free hardware and tracking, and volume discounts apply automatically from five devices. That is well below the $25 published by Linxup and Azuga, but the page shows far less fleet-management depth.
- Pro: Every paid plan includes the Hapn app with live locations, trip history, custom alerts and geofences. The page lists OBD plug-in, hardwired and battery trackers, a 30-day money-back guarantee and free 2-day U.S. shipping.
- Con: The page gives only a 'from' price, so what each tier includes is not shown, and the tier pages were not included in what we read. It lists no reporting, maintenance, ELD or API features of the kind other vendors show.
- Risk signals (none, checked 2026-10-12): No risk-signal search was run for this entry; none observed on the vendor pages read on 2026-10-12.

## FAQ

**How much does GPS vehicle tracking cost?**

On the pages we opened, published prices ran from $8.95 to $35 per vehicle per month. Spytec lists fleet plans from $8.95 per vehicle per month billed annually. Linxup lists $25 per vehicle per month for GPS vehicle tracking. Azuga lists BasicFleet at $25, SafeFleet at $30 and CompleteFleet at $35. ClearPathGPS, Geotab, Verizon Connect, GPS Insight, Samsara, Teletrac Navman and Motive showed no price on the pages we could read, so quote only. Rastrac describes its RastracFusion product as less than $1 a day but gives no plan prices.

**Is there a no-contract GPS tracker for fleets?**

Two vendors state this. Linxup lists No Contract, 2-year and 3-year terms for each product, and ClearPathGPS says no long-term contracts with monthly billing. Linxup's no-contract plan charges $69 for a standard plug-in tracker, while the 3-year plan makes it free. Spytec and Azuga pages did not state a contract length. A no-contract plan usually costs more in hardware or in monthly fees than a multi-year term, so compare the total over the period you expect to keep the vehicles.

**Can I track vehicles without buying hardware?**

Rastrac offers RastracFusion, which connects to factory-embedded vehicle systems with no hardware or installation, with real-time tracking, engine diagnostics and maintenance alerts, and a 3-month free trial offer on the page that ends November 30, 2026. Whether your vehicles are supported is a question for the vendor. Other vendors here ship a device, and some, like Spytec and ClearPathGPS, state that hardware is free or has no upfront cost with a plan.

**Do I need a cellular plan for the tracker?**

The tracker reports over a cellular network, and the vendors we read include that connectivity in their service fee rather than selling it separately. Bouncie describes a 4G LTE adapter and warns that if the adapter loses wireless service no data is transmitted. Ask each vendor what happens in areas without coverage and whether the tracker stores data and sends it when service returns.

**How long does installation take?**

We did not find installation times stated as a number on the pages we read, so we publish none. Geotab and Spytec describe OBD II plug-in installation as needing no tools, which suggests minutes per vehicle, but hardwired installation takes longer. Ask each vendor whether they offer installation support and whether it costs extra.

**What happens to my data if I leave?**

Export terms were not stated on the pages we read, so we cannot rate them. Before you sign, ask whether you can export trip history, stops, alerts and reports in a usable format such as CSV, how long the vendor keeps history after you cancel, and whether the API is available on your plan.

