Make vs Workato vs n8n: which automation platform is best for connecting a SaaS stack in 2026?
Every price and fact below was checked on each company's own website on October 11, 2026. Sources are listed at the bottom. No company pays to appear.
The short answer
Make is the best starting point for most small teams, from $9 a month for 10,000 credits, with a free plan of 1,000 credits. n8n suits technical teams that want to self-host or count whole workflow runs rather than steps, from 20 euros a month billed annually, or free through its self-hosted Community Edition. Workato is built for larger organisations that need enterprise governance and on-premise connectivity, and publishes no prices, so you need a quote.
Side by side
| Make | Workato | n8n | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Top 11 rank | #1 | #2 | #3 |
| Best for | Small teams that want a visual builder with a low entry price | Large organisations that need enterprise integration, governance and on-premise connectivity | Technical teams that want to self-host or pay per workflow run |
| Published prices | Free $0, Core $9, Pro $16, Teams $29 a month for 10k credits. Enterprise is custom | Not published. Standard, Business MCP, Enterprise MCP and Workato ONE editions, all by quote | Starter 20 euros, Pro 50 euros, Business 667 euros a month, billed annually. Enterprise is by quote |
| How usage is metered | Credits: each module action in a scenario counts as one credit | Consumption by capability, tracked in a Usage Dashboard. Rates not published | Workflow executions, with unlimited steps. Pays for full runs, not each step |
| Entry plan volume | Free: 1,000 credits a month. Paid plans start at 10,000 credits | Not published | Starter: 2.5K executions a month. Pro: 10K. Business: 40K |
| Connectors | 3,500+ apps on every plan | 1,200+ pre-built connectors included | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Free option | Free plan with no time limit, 2 active scenarios, 15-minute minimum interval | No free plan or trial mentioned on the pricing page | Free trial with no credit card on Starter and Pro. Self-hosted Community Edition on GitHub |
| Self-hosting | Not offered. Hosted on AWS in the EU or North America | Not mentioned on the pricing page | Community Edition is self-hosted. Business plan is self-hosted only. Enterprise can be hosted by n8n or self-hosted |
| On-premise connectivity | On-prem agent listed as a feature in the plan comparison | On-premises agents (OPAs): 3 in Business MCP, 10 in Enterprise MCP, 30 in Workato ONE | Not mentioned on the pricing page |
| SSO | Company SSO listed in the plan comparison | SAML SSO and MFA included from the Standard edition | SSO and LDAP from the Business plan |
| AI features | Make AI Agents (beta), MCP server and 350+ AI apps | MCP servers from Business MCP up. Agent Studio in Workato ONE | Agents, MCP and AI nodes on every plan, with Assistant credits |
The winner, by what you need
Small teams and first automations
Make
Make has a free plan with no time limit and paid plans from $9 a month. Workato publishes no prices and n8n's paid plans start at 20 euros a month billed annually.
Self-hosting your automations
n8n
n8n offers a self-hosted Community Edition on GitHub. Make's pricing page lists AWS hosting only and Workato's page does not mention self-hosting.
Large organisations with on-premise systems
Workato
Workato's editions include on-premises agents, from 3 in Business MCP to 30 in Workato ONE, and enterprise security and governance.
Workflows with many steps per run
n8n
n8n counts one execution per full workflow run with unlimited steps, while Make counts one credit per module action.
Widest app coverage
Make
Make lists 3,500+ apps on every plan, against 1,200+ pre-built connectors on Workato. n8n does not state a connector count on its pricing page.
Worth knowing
- Make's $9, $16 and $29 prices are for 10,000 credits a month and rise with the credit volume you choose. Make also shows a saving of 15% or more for annual billing.
- n8n's prices above are the annual-billing rates shown on its pricing page. Its Start-up Plan gives 50% off Business to companies under 20 employees.
- Workato says its pricing and plan structures may vary by contract and sign-up date, and lists add-ons such as concurrency, private link and EDI by quote only.
- Prices are as shown on each vendor's own site on 11 October 2026 and can change at any time.
See all eleven in the full ranking: Make vs Workato vs n8n: 11 Best Automation Platforms (Zapier Alternatives) 2026.
Sources
- Make plans, prices per 10k credits, free plan limits, credit definition, 3,500+ apps, hosting, SSO, on-prem agent, AI agents and MCP server: https://www.make.com/en/pricing
- Workato editions, no published prices, consumption model, 1,200+ connectors, on-premises agents, SSO, MCP and Agent Studio, add-ons by quote: https://www.workato.com/pricing
- n8n plans, annual prices, execution limits, free trial, Community Edition on GitHub, self-hosted Business plan, SSO and LDAP, Start-up Plan: https://n8n.io/pricing/